Foods Post-Baby

Thanks to gestational diabetes (GD), I have been deprived of some of my most-loved foods for two and a half months now.  Yes, I can eat them, but in tiny portions that in no way satisfy my craving for them.  I had this problem while pregnant with Little Miss, as well, but only for about 2 months since I started the diet later in pregnancy than I did this time around.  When I was going through mini withdrawals of the foods I really wanted during those last few weeks, I made a mental list of what I wanted as soon as Little Miss was born.  On the list (I only remember a couple of things) was a green tea frappuccino from Starbucks (no melon, added peppermint) and a burger, fries, and a shake from our local 50s-style drive-up burger joint (conveniently one block from the hospital).

This time I decided to plan ahead, so my meals and snacks for the month after Miss Bennett is born are already planned.  Here’s what’s on my ever-growing list so far:

  • Lucky Charms
  • Picture of french toastBlended chocolate coffee drink
  • Curry with rice
  • Mashed potatoes with gravy and oatmeal patties
  • Reese’s PB Cup Blizzard from DQ
  • Oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins
  • Burger and fries at Red Robin (probably coupled with strawberry lemonade)
  • Cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese
  • French toast with PB and syrup
  • Perfect bananas
  • Jason’s mom’s rice dish
  • Orange juice
  • Oreos and milk
  • Pomegranate raspberry frozen yogurtMashed Potatoes!!!
  • Ravioli/Tortellini
  • Homemade macaroni and cheese
  • Strawberries
  • Hashbrowns
  • Pumpkin pancakes
  • Homemade chocolate milkshake
  • Multi-grain toast
  • Soup with French bread for dipping
Leave a Reply

