Boy or Girl?

Whichever my banana-sized uterine resident reveals him/herself to be during the ultrasound in two weeks, I’m positive my child will be either a dancer or a gymnast.  Maybe it’s because I know what to notice this time around, but I’ve been feeling this little one bouncing around in my lower abdomen since I hit the 12-week mark.  I know, that’s unbelievable because all the books and “experts” say you can’t feel it until at LEAST 16 weeks, but ya know what?  Even the “experts” aren’t right all the time.

I had an ultrasound at around 9 weeks to check on the size of the baby; since I couldn’t be certain when my LNP was, the doctor needed to measure the kid to figure out when I was due.  Surprisingly, my guesstimate on the baby’s gestational age was two weeks behind and I was told I was actually over 11 weeks along.  Talk about a pleasant surprise!  This meant two weeks less of worrying about morning sickness (nope, never got it), two fewer weeks to wait to learn the gender, and two weeks closer to looking pregnant.  What a day of wins!

Now here I am, approaching the regular 20-week ultrasound at which, if you wish, they can tell you what you’re having: boy or girl.

People keep asking me, “Do you want a boy this time?”  “What are you hoping for this time around?”  I really thought this time I’d have a true opinion on which gender I hoped to have.  The first time it doesn’t really matter, does it?  You’re just starting your family, so there’s nothing to make “even.”  So this time around, I was sure I’d have a feeling one way or the other as to whether I wanted a second girl or our first boy.

Truth is…I don’t care.

Just like during my first pregnancy, I respond to every question of what I’d like to have with the same answer: “A healthy baby.”

Leave a Reply

