Toyflix?

My friend likened this to Netflix for toys, so I’m dubbing it Toyflix, although its real name is Toygaroo.  It’s a toy rental program that brings a new box of toys to your front door – sanitized and in good shape – just when you need it.

I’ve heard about moms rotating toys – keeping a stash in a box in the closet and pulling them out every few weeks, then packing up the toys that had been out for the last few weeks and stashing them in the closet.  This keeps Jr.’s interest in his toys a bit more than simply playing with the same pile of toys for five years.

I have mixed feelings about this; the idea of owning so many toys that this toy rotation is possible kind of rubs me the wrong way since I firmly believe in using imagination and brain power over watching flashy lights and plastic moving parts, but at the same time I know kids need variety and that they have short attention spans.  So for a few reasons, this Toygaroo project really appeals to me.

First of all, it saves me money.  Not having to buy all those toys gives me (and my checking account) room to breathe a huge sigh of relief.  Secondly, it means my daughter’s toys take up no more room than they already do in the living room.  If they’re replaced instead of added to, that means toddler playthings won’t take over my house.  And lastly, I get to choose what toys my daughter plays with, just like I would if I purchased them at the toy store, but they’re delivered to my door, with no inconvenience to me.

So, here’s how it works:

  1. Browse available toys and add them to your wishlist.
  2. Toys you’ve selected are delivered to your door.
  3. Keep and play with the toys for 30+ days. (You have to share with your toddler.)
  4. Return your toys and a new shipment is sent your way, with toys from your wishlist.
  5. Lather, rinse, repeat.

More about how it works:

For All Ages
If you have more than one child at home and need toys at different age and development levels, Toygaroo will come through for you!  (Nice rhyme, eh?)  They carry products for birth through five years, and beyond.

Sanitization
Toygaroo toys all go through a three-step sanitization process, making them cleaner than toys you bring home from the toy store, which have been touched, fondled, chewed on and dropped by countless adults, teenagers and toddlers.

Rent-to-Own
If, by chance, Jr. becomes quite attached to a particular toy and you think you should just keep it, Toygaroo encourages you to rent it for one additional month.  If Jr. still seems attached at the hip to his “new” toy, Toygaroo will sell it to you at a discounted price.

“Oops!” Issues
Kids can be hard on toys and sometimes they break, and other times pieces will go MIA.  In the event of the former, you will be charged a discounted price for the broken toy, and in the latter situation, you will be given 30 days to find the missing piece(s) before being charged a $3-$8 part replacement fee.

Donations
If Jr. has a toy he ignores and never wants to play with, you can in fact donate it to Toygaroo for “Play Points” which award you credit toward future toy rental.  (Donations are limited to products Toygaroo currently carries or will soon carry.)

To start your 14-day risk-free trial and see how Toygaroo fits (or doesn’t!) into your lifestyle, visit their website today and sign up!  Then leave me a note and tell me your thoughts on the service.  I’d like to hear first-hand testimonies.

4 thoughts on “Toyflix?

  1. Seems like a really good idea, but I’m not convinced it would be money saving for us. I do not currently spend $30 every two months on toys. Of course, we typically buy second hand.

Leave a Reply

