Worth It

For some reason, during the week we have to wake a slumbering Little Miss at 7:10 a.m. in order to get to daycare in time to get Mommy and Daddy to work on time.  But on the weekends, when we have nowhere to go and no schedule to keep, she’ll be awake at 7:00…or earlier.

On a recent Sunday (Mother’s Day, to be exact), she was awake at 7:15…as can be expected when Mommy and Daddy stayed up until after midnight the night before – something they never do.  I groaned and shifted in my comfy bed, hoping that, it being Mother’s Day and all, Husband would obligingly get up and let me enjoy the space between the sheets a little longer.

No such luck.  He didn’t even twitch.

Grumbling to myself, I got up, pulled on a robe, and stumbled into Little Miss’ room to find her standing in her crib, smiling cheerfully at me.

“Hi!” she said, in the softest, gentlest voice possible for a 21-month-old.  I smiled and walked toward her.

“Hi!” I responded.

As I reached the railing of the crib where she was standing, she looked up at me, then reached up her tiny hand and stroked my cheek.  Gently, softly.  “Hi!” she almost whispered.

I picked her up and held her against my chest and hugged her tight.  She laid her head on my shoulder and snuggled against my neck.  Usually when I get her out of her crib she gestures toward the door and asks for Daddy.  This was a pleasant surprise, and the perfect day for it.

Grumbling: Gone.  Groaning: Forgotten.  Overwhelming love for my daughter: Well…Overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

