Independence

I’m fairly certain I’ve got some major challenges looming in my future.  Why do I think this?  Well, because my daughter is entirely too much like me.

Some things about this likeness are endearing, such as her interest in talking to people, and how she sings to herself and her stuffed animals and dolls.  She also dislikes lentils, which I did, too, until I was in college, and she can’t pass up the opportunity to do something fun, like sliding or swinging at the playground, and she reads books like they won’t exist tomorrow.

Other aspects, however, are not so perfect in their adorableness.  In spite of the fact that I appreciate people who can think for themselves, sometimes independence in a 21-month-old can be more frustrating than cute.

Like when we’re already late heading out the door to work and she insists that the shoes sitting right by the front door are NOT the ones she wants to wear today.

Or when we’re eating dinner and she decides she’d like to lounge with her feet up on the table while chewing.

Or when we’re trying to play with her on the living room floor and she is convinced that the way we’re stacking her blocks is absolutely incorrect.

Or when we’re changing her diaper in a hurry and she wants nothing to do with us, but only wants to put it on herself.

Of course, we kind of brought this on ourselves; both my husband and I are stubborn, “I’ll do it my own way, thank you!” type of people, and in addition, we send her to daycare.  This forces her to exert her independence in order to hold her own against the bigger kids.  And I will readily admit there are some fantastic benefits to her being so independent.

For example, she can easily entertain herself for half an hour or more, sitting in the corner playing with toys, empty cardboard boxes, stuffed animals, blankets, books, or a laundry basket.  She can also feed herself with a fork, spoon, or her fingers.  So in reality, her independence isn’t always a frustration…but I’m still dreading those teenage years…

Leave a Reply

