Life in the Baby Lane: Chapter 16

Weaning Whining

“Just wait until you stop breastfeeding,” I remember hearing over and over and over again when Little Miss was born. “You’ll miss it!”

I didn’t believe it. For the first month or two of Little Miss’ life, I felt like nothing more than a 24-hour all-you-can-eat milk station buffet. She took at least 45 minutes to eat most of the time, and since she had to eat every two hours (calculated from the BEGINNING of the last feeding), I really honestly felt like I was doing nothing else.

It didn’t help that whenever people were around for extended periods of time (the weekend, for instance), they would constantly comment, “Is she eating AGAIN?!?” or “Didn’t she just finish eating?!?”

Yes, and Yes. Believe me, you don’t have to point that out to ME.

When Little Miss was 2 1/2 months old we made our first road trip with a baby: We drove to “the big-big city.” Normally a four-hour drive, the trip took over seven hours. Every stop took at least an hour, since Little Miss took so long to eat, and we also ended up stopping at least three additional times for diaper changes. We thought we might never make it to “the big-big city,” but fortunately we did.

Seven months later, things are much different. I’ve been back at work full-time for six months. During those six months I’ve spent many more hours pumping than I care to remember. Last week, I officially pumped for the last time. My supply was so low it wasn’t worth the 15 minutes it took to set up the pump, pump, take it apart, clean it, and put it away twice a day. So I decided to stop.

Plus, Little Miss has been slowly weaning herself over the last couple of months. She nurses well in the morning, but other than that she really isn’t interested. So I feed her three times a day (morning, noon and night) and in-between she gets finger foods and formula bottles.

In about a week and a half I will be leaving for a week-long trip…without Little Miss. During that time my supply will completely dry up and Little Miss will be officially weaned. Her nourishment will come 100 percent from vegetables, fruit, chunks of appropriate food from Mommy and Daddy’s plates, and formula. Then, in two months when she turns one year old, she will be introduced to cow’s milk, strawberries, citrus fruits, peanut butter, and other “no-nos” we’ve avoided for the last nearly 10 months.

While I’m thrilled that Little Miss is becoming more independent and that I am able to reclaim my boobs, there is a part of me that feels sad that she no longer needs me for food. Within a week and a half’s time, anyone could feed her. She doesn’t necessarily NEED Mommy for that anymore.

And another tiny part of me is annoyed that all of those people who told me I’d miss it…were right.

One thought on “Life in the Baby Lane: Chapter 16

  1. I felt exactly the same, Becky! I didn’t think I would miss it, I was looking forward to weaning Liam, but then he weaned himself and I was so not ready. Even though I’m pregnant with number two and he was 15 months already. It’s hard because it’s a sign they are growing up. But happy for the same reason!

Leave a Reply

