Healthy & Delicious

It’s summer, and with it comes a craving for popsicles and Fudgesicles…well, at least for me.  Little Miss loves treats, too, so our freezer currently has two boxes of Dreyer’s fruit popsicles: One regular and one no-sugar-added.  Yes, we have popsicle molds, but usually I just use Kool-Aid with a little less water in it than usual, and if I’m going to give her that, I might as well just hand her the sugar bowl and a spoon.  While I’m not against giving kids sugar, I don’t think they need much of it (neither do I, for that matter), and the less they have the better.

A friend of mine recently shared a delicious popsicle recipe that’s easy to personalize for flavour preferences (especially important when dealing with small, picky children), and a photo of her son, Diego, enjoying a healthy, delicious summer treat.

Fruit ‘N Yogurt Popsicles

Ingredients:

Plain yogurt
Fresh or frozen fruit (your choice!)  Ideas: Bananas, raspberries, blueberries, peaches, apricots, strawberries, mangoes, pears, blackberries, nectarines, guavas, etc.

Directions:

Scoop a few spoonfuls of yogurt into a blender.  Add frozen and/or fresh fruit.  Blend until fruit is in small pieces.  Pour into popsicle molds and freeze for several hours, until set.  Enjoy!

Note:

If you’re interested in BPA-free popsicle molds, use Amazon.com to search for some.  I found these that I thought would be just the right size for little mouths, and easy to hold in little hands.

3 thoughts on “Healthy & Delicious

  1. I love frozen treats, too, Lara. 🙂 And BPA is an organic compound often used to make plastic. Plastics made without BPA tend to be a slight yellow colour, but there are some concerns that BPA can be unhealthy when in contact with food/drink. So many baby bottles these days are being made BPA-free.

  2. That sounds SOOOOO good!!! I will have to try that. I am a frozen treat / popsicle FREAK!! I even eat them in the winter.

Leave a comment